I have realized that #1 it is best to limit sugar in your diet, #2 white sugar isn't vegan! I have decided that I am happy with having "sugar in the raw" (vegan brand!) every once in a while, but I am concerned with eating out? If you go to a vegan restaurant - or any restaurant or bakery that has "vegan" options, do you eat what they give you are do you make sure 100% that they did not use white cane sugar? I feel like it's kind of a waste to put so much effort into eating the right way just to go out somewhere and eat the wrong way- but do you limit yourself to never eating out at vegan places? I know it's a personal choice pretty much on every aspect, but I was just curious about what you think :) thanks!!
At home I limit my sugar to healthier vegan granola bites or maybe once in a while I'll have a gluten free vegan snack bar (the brand I'm loving these days is Enjoy Life). If I go out to have a dessert I just enjoy what's offered as gluten free vegan. I think if you're only treating yourself once a week or so, just enjoy your treat and don't over analyze it so much.
I think they use bone char to make sugar that is not vegan . . . look into it, but I also knew about non-vegan sugar. If you go to Whole Foods, they have bags of vegan cane sugar. The first time I realized it wasn't vegan was when I saw this bag! I don't worry too much when I go out because that seems a bit extreme, but I do use vegan sugar if I ever use it at home.
they do indeed use animal products to process traditional proccessed sugar.....also a lot of alcohols (wine, beer etc...) use animal products in their making http://www.barnivore.com/is a site that will guide you to vegan-friendly booze. If you are eating in a vegan restaurant, they will not be using white sugar. They may be using other harsh sugars such as cane juice (and even agave is getting a rap lately as being a bit of a "high" followed by a "crash" sweetner!), and all you have to do is.....ask! I do it ALL the time! For years - I ask "what is this sweetened with? The majority of the time if its a vegan item in a non-vegan place, it will be cane juice sweetened, but in a good vegan place there will probably be items sweetened with cane juice and others with maple syrup, agave or brown rice syrup etc....ask, Of course you can never be 100% sure of anything in life - you may be lied to! But the chances of that are slim, and I think the biggest potential for misinformation may just be th eperson who works there being misinformed. Almost all vegan places are accustomed to patrons with odd food requirements/sensitivities so educate their workers on ingredients, and a lot of them even have ingredient lists for all of their items - I never hestitate to ask if they have an ingredient list and look myself to see what is in what.
Thank you for the responses! I was pretty shocked as well when I learned that a lot of sugar is processed through animal products- I think I'm going to get very comfortable asking restaurants questions :) It's definitely worth it to know what you're getting.
Join the Discussion!
Login or create an account on The Kind Life today and you'll be able to leave comments, share photos and videos with friends, and participate in community events!