So about once a month, I treat myself to a vegan scone at a local coffee shop. I always look forward to it, so you can imagine my disappointment today when they didn't have any. I didn't see anything else available that was vegan, except perhaps a bagel. I asked about the ingredients, and all they could tell me was that they get their bagels from the local bagel shop down the street. Does anyone know if a bagel is vegan? I would think it would contain eggs, or perhaps dairy. Thanks for the help
Honestly it really depends. In fact, many bagels ARE vegan, and they very rarely have dairy in them (in my experience); BUT some bakeries do use an egg white wash to make the bagels glossy-looking. I would just call the local bagel shop. I'm always calling places, people usually don't mind answering questions since lots of people have allergies.