After reading the Kind Diet this past Wednesday and Thursday I decided to go vegan. Last night I made my first vegan meal. I wanted something similar to what I'd been used to eating to get me started. I made a Sweet Potato Shepherds Pie with chicken ground round. I was so excited to make my first meal, spiced it up and it tasted really good. Even my husband enjoyed it. Since ground round is advertised as vegan, I didn't check the ingredients until after we had had dinner. I was very disappointed to find the list say that it "could contain egg products". How can they claim it is vegan if this is the case?
Gardein products are 100% vegan. You can also make your own...it's simple actually, and then you don't have the worry about what is in it, nor are you buying packaged, processed foods. I found a really simple recipe for a roast that I used for Thanksgiving that was simple, and delicious. It has a very "meaty" texture and everyone, carnivores and all, enjoyed it! I chopped up the leftovers and added it to a chili later in the week...just as good. Here's the recipe:
Did it actually say 'could contain egg products,' or did it say made in a facility that also uses egg ingredients? And, does the packaging say it is actually vegan? Many 'veggie burgers/meats' are vegetarian but not vegan, and may contain milk, eggs, or cheese, so you will want to read labels. Some have labels that let you know it is processed in a factory where items with those other ingredients are also processed, just to let you know that there is a slight chance of minimal contamination with such products. The bottom line is basically to read labels, or like Dani says, make your own.
Thanks for that link. I just read through the recipe and it sounds great. I still have to gather some of the basic ingredients for my pantry. If you come across a recipe for a vegan chicken would you mind sending the link for that as well? Thanks, I am really excited about my recent choice for change!!
On the front of the packaging it said: vegan*good source of protein* Lower on the packaging it says "simulated chicken, contains no poultry. On the back it lists the ingredients and at the very bottom of that list says: contains soy and wheat. May contain eggs.
Join the Discussion!
Login or create an account on The Kind Life today and you'll be able to leave comments, share photos and videos with friends, and participate in community events!