I was at a festival this weekend that was handing out energy drinks (rockstars) to be specific, and I have never had one of these but I was so exhausted and its all they had so I was thinking about it, until somebody, who knew I was vegan said to not drink them because Taurine is an amino-acid found in the muscle of an animal. Is this true? I find it hard to believe, but she said she studies nutrition.
Taurine is really an amino acid found in muscles of animals. So we can feed cats not only of vegetables because they need taurine, but do not themselves produce it. However, I believe that taurine can also be produced vegan, there excists indeed vegan cat food, which contains Taurine.
Join the Discussion!
Login or create an account on The Kind Life today and you'll be able to leave comments, share photos and videos with friends, and participate in community events!