I honestly think pop of commercial main stream sort is terrible for anyone vegan, vegitarian or carnivore. However, after much googleing and searching PETA website I do not have a concrete answer. Is Pesi, coke etc acceptable for vegitarians? I am slowly converting my boss into a healthy life style. She easily gave up meat, went gluten free but still drinks Pepsi daily. She wants to loose weight and I want to have all the answers to help her, she is better than a boss she is my mentor and close friend.
Depends on your views of sugar. Cane sugar is processed using bone char, so some vegans don't eat regular cane sugar, while some consider it okay because they're not actually eating the animal. For a vegetarian it's more acceptable.
Of course, if her goal is to lose weight and improve her health, all soda should go. I'm amazed she has cut gluten, but not soda. Sugar is addictive and has no healthful benefits. Most popular sodas also have corn syrup as an ingredient, which is most likely made from genetically modified corn. At least try to get her to go to 'healthier' versions to wean her off slowly - try Blue Sky, which is at least only cane sugar and no corn syrup. Then maybe go to seltzer water flavored with real fruit. The fact that vegetarians, or vegans, might say it's okay to drink doesn't make it good for anyone to drink regularly. So if she really wants to lose weight, she's gonna have to find a way to get rid of the soda eventually.
Join the Discussion!
Login or create an account on The Kind Life today and you'll be able to leave comments, share photos and videos with friends, and participate in community events!