Has anyone heard of the brand of butter: BestLife? I read the ingredients and the only thing I'm not sure about, that might not be vegan, is lactic acid. It doesn't say "lactic acid (from non-dairy sources)" or anything like that. I've seen that before. Someone gave me sticks of this kind of butter, thinking it was vegan, but I don't want to use it if it's not.
I found a site called veggieglobal.com that list alot of stuff that is listed as "is a animal source" or "could be a animal source" and lactic acid is in the could be a animal source and it suggest to call the company to see if it is vegatarian or not. Hope this helps,