Champagne is the traditional alcoholic beverage to serve on New Year’s Eve, and if you’re planning to imbibe, you may be surprised to learn that not all Champagne is vegan. Some Champagne, like other wine, is processed with fining agents, which can include products such as casein (milk protein), gelatin, fish bladders, and egg white.
Because these fining agents aren’t ingredients but part of the winemaking process, brands aren’t required to disclose their use on labeling. If you want to be sure your Champagne or bubbly is truly free from animal products, check out Barnivore.com, for an extensive list of vegan spirits, beer, and wine.
For your New Year’s Eve Champagne these five are vegan:
1. Möet Chandon
2. Domaine Ste. Michelle
4. Veuve Clicquot (Thank God this one is free of nasty stuff! I can’t remember the last time I had a glass of champagne… it must have been years… but I remember loving this one.)
5. Piper Heidsieck